Yo-Yo Ma, Silk Road Ensemble – Sing Me Home - 2016 - Classical - Ltd. Numbered Red Vinyl - Sealed 180 Grm 2LP

In stock
Yo-Yo Ma, Silk Road Ensemble – Sing Me Home
Label: Music On Vinyl – MOVCL025
2 x Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Numbered, Reissue, Translucent Red
Limited edition of 500 individually numbered copies on translucent red vinyl.
Barcode: 8719262019218
Country: Europe
Released: Jul 16, 2021
Genre: Jazz, Folk, World, & Country
A1 Green (Vincent's Tune)
A2 O'Neill's Cavalry March
A3 Little Birdie
A4 Ichichila
B1 Sadila Jana
B2 Shingashi Song
B3 Madhoushi
C1 Wedding
C2 Going Home
C3 Cabaliño
D1 St. James Infirmary Blues
D2 If You Shall Return...
D3 Heart And Soul
(SecondInVersion) "The journey begins with Chinese pipa player and composer Wu Man’s piece “Green (Vincent’s Tune).” Eastern folk melodies come alive through an orchestra of Chinese wind instruments, Western strings, Kamancheh (an Iranian bowed string instrument), assorted percussion, and, of course, the visceral Tuvan throat singing of the Grammy-winning vocal octet Roomful of Teeth.  
Violinist and composer Colin Jacobsen’s contributions to the album include two imaginative arrangements of Western folk tunes: the Irish “O’Neill’s Cavalry March,” featuring Martin Hayes on the fiddle, and the American “Little Birdie,” featuring vocals by Sarah Jarosz. Each arrangement expands the timbral and harmonic palette of Western folk music by incorporating Eastern instruments like the pipa (a four-string Chinese string instrument), the shakuhachi (a Japanese bamboo flute), and the sheng (a Chinese free reed instrument).
What follows is a new arrangement of the traditional Malian tune “Ichichila,” for which the ensemble enlists the talents of Toumani Diabaté on kora (a West African string instrument) and Balla Kouyaté on balafon (an African wooden xylophone). Traditionally sung by the Taureg people while dyeing textiles in indigo pits, the song’s colorful, upbeat cadence comes from the rhythm of the textiles being plunged in and out of the dye with long sticks.
Balkan vocalists Black Sea Hotel lend their voices to an arrangement of the traditional Macedonian folk song “Sadila Jana,” while Japanese percussion instruments take center stage in a contemporary arrangement of the Japanese “Shingashi Song.” Indian raga is the inspiration for the organic and free-flowing “Madhoushi,” featuring Shujaat Khan on sitar and vocals, and “Wedding” features a vibrant marriage of clarinet, oud (a Middle Eastern string instrument), and wordless vocals in a heartfelt tribute to the millions of Syrians who have fled to find new homes in recent years.
But perhaps no other song captures the spirit of the album more than “Going Home,” a piece that has passed through countless composers’ capable hands in the past century. Originally composed as part of Dvořák’s New World Symphony, it was later arranged as a song with lyrics by his pupil William Arms Fisher. On this album, we find it rearranged and translated into Chinese in a twinkling string rendition featuring vocals by Abigail Washburn."
More Information
Condition New
Format 2LP, 180 Gram
Color Red