The Meters – A Message From The Meters (The Complete Josie, Reprise & Warner Bros. Singles 1968-1977) - Funk Soul - Black Vinyl - Sealed 3LP

In stock
The Meters - A Message From The Meters (The Complete Josie, Reprise & Warner Bros. Singles 1968-1977)
Label: Real Gone Music – RGM-0632, Josie – RGM-0632, Reprise Records – RGM-0632, Real Gone Music – OPLP-8934, Rhino Custom Products – RGM-0632
3 x Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Reissue, Remastered
Barcode (Text): 8 48064 00632 9
Country: US
Released: Dec 9, 2022
Genre: Funk / Soul
Style: Funk, Bayou Funk
A1  Sophisticated Cissy
A2 Sehorns Farms
A3 Cissy Strut
A4 Here Comes The Meter Man
A5 Ease Back
A6 Ann
A7 Dry Spell
A8 Little Old Money Maker
B1 Look-Ka Py Py
B2 This Is My Last Affair
B3 Chicken Strut
B4 Hey! Last Minute
B5 Hand Clapping Song
B6 Joog
C1  A Message From The Meters
C2 Zony Mash
C3 Stretch Your Rubber Band
C4 Groovy Lady
C5 (The World Is A Bit Under The Weather) Doodle-Oop
C6 I Need More Time
C7 Good Old Funky Music
C8 Sassy Lady
D1 Do The Dirt
D2 Smiling
D3 Cabbage Alley
D4 The Flower Song
D5 Chug Chug Chug-A-Log (Push N' Shove) (Part I)
D6 Chug Chug Chug-A-Lug (Push N' Shove) (Part II)
E1 Hey Pocky A-Way
E2 Africa
E3 People Say
E4 Loving You Is On My Mind
E5 They All Ask'd For You
E6 Running Fast (Long Version)
F1  Disco Is The Thing Today
F2 Mr. Moon
F3 Trick Bag
F4 Find Yourself
F5 Be My Lady
F6 No More Okey Doke
"The subtitle will tell many as much as they need to know before buying this release: The Complete Josie, Reprise and Warner Brothers Singles 1968 – 1977. It is a triple LP package, with the sides that made this four-piece (a five-piece towards the end, with Cyril Neville joining) a New Orleans legend whose influence still reverberates strongly and whose talents were called upon by some of the biggest names of the era – and of course, the equally legendary Allen Toussaint was a very close associate. He actually co-produced all but two tracks of the 40 tracks here. Anyone talking about “monster funk” probably has this stuff in mind. From the ground-breaking earliest tracks such as “Cissy Strut”, and “Sophisticated Sissy” – wide-open, slippery instrumental funk that’s both easy and big, appropriately enough, with taut, concise guitar lines, unbridled organ, fat bass and crisp, slightly anarchic drumming – to the late 70s with the album’s one aberration, “Disco Is The Thing Today”, this set contains all the band’s singles, both A and B sides, from this time, with rare mixes. Ensemble vocals start to appear around the time of ‘‘Look-Ka Py Py “and “Chicken Strut”, and “Do The Dirt” marks the move to Reprise and a shift of focus to “real” vocal numbers, but as the band’s sound became more sophisticated, they also made something of a move back to their roots, as on the Professor Longhair-ish “Cabbage Alley”. You’ll probably still play the earlier tracks much more though. Sound quality is wonderful, almost everything is remastered from original tape sources, and with the loving care this truly ground-breaking music deserves." (SpillMagazine)
More Information
Condition New
Format 3LP
Color Black