The Last Kingdom: Destiny Is All (Music From The TV Series And Movie) - John Lunn, Eivør And Danny Saul - 2023 RSD Original Series Soundtrack - Amber Vinyl - Sealed 2LP + Booklet

In stock

John Lunn, Eivør And Danny Saul – The Last Kingdom: Destiny Is All (Music From The TV Series And Movie)

Label:    A&G Songs – none
Format:    2 x Vinyl, LP, Album, Record Store Day, Amber
Hype Sticker:
[Record Store Day logo]
11 previously unreleased tracks
Amber-coloured vinyl
16 page booklet
Music from the TV Series (wrapped around top of round sticker)
and 'Seven Kings Must Die' Movie (wrapped around bottom of round sticker)
Barcode (As Printed): 5 060914 180057
Country:    Europe
Released:    Apr 21, 2023
Genre:    Classical, Stage & Screen
Style:    Nordic, Folk, Soundtrack


A1        The Beloveds
A2        Blood Will Prevail
A3        Death Of Aethelflaed

B1        The Last Kingdom - Slight Return
B2        Forever


C1        Shadow Queen
C2        Blues For Halig
C3        Banished

D1        Hymn 49
D2        Until Valhalla
D3        Lívstræðrir II


“The collaboration between EIVØR, Saul and Lunn first began in 2015, and from the outset they wanted to do things differently. 2018’s The Last Kingdom (Original Television Soundtrack) demonstrates this perfectly, moving away from traditional orchestral instruments and exploring electronic instruments. Channelling the emotions of people living in a Viking-ravaged England in the 9th century, the trio managed to compellingly capture the highs and lows of Uhtred’s story and the defiance of Wessex. Now the illustrious trio have achieved this once again with the stunningly beautiful Destiny Is All.

The album places you right back into the world of The Last Kingdom – a story close to EIVØR’s heart as the singer has stated that growing up in the Faroe Islands she was fascinated by Vikings. The uniqueness of The Last Kingdom’s score lies in EIVØR’s beautiful chants and throat singing from her homeland. The chants are deeply rooted in Faroese culture and they capture brutal beauty of the small North Atlantic set of islands. The dramatic nature of Saul and Lunn’s analogue synths combined with the poignant layered vocal melodies in EIVØR’s distinctive tone, is utterly breathtaking. The experimentation with the kantele (a zither-like instrument that is used in traditional Finnish music) and double bass which Lunn ran through a series of distortion pedals to develop a ferocious sound adds to the drama, power and poignancy of the album in relation to Uhtred’s story.

One of the standout songs is opening track The Beloveds – a frenetic and awe-inspiring piece that captures the darker intensity of Destiny Is All. Sung in Faroese, the song has a powerful resonance that you can feel deep in your heart. The album as a whole is stunningly evocative and emotive; in many ways it transcends the TV series and vividly captures a folk and cultural magic that feels as though it has been handed down through the generations.

The album also features reimagined and rearranged versions of songs like The Last Kingdom – Slight Return. The show’s opening theme sends chills down your spine as EIVØR‘s powerful vocals echo through time. Blood Will Prevail is a hauntingly mournful yet soulful song; it feels like you are bearing witness to the loss of someone important to you, but it could also mean that nothing is gained without slaughter. You feel the mournful melody deep in your heart, and it physically moves you as well as emotionally. Death of Aethelflaed has a similar vibe but on a more intimate level, given how her and Uhtred’s characters are intertwined.” (Distorted Soung Mag review)

More Information

More Information
Condition New
Format 2LP
Color Yellow