Shirley Scott – Queen Talk: Live at the Left Bank - Deluxe Edition - 1972 RSD Jazz - Ltd. Numbered Vinyl - Audiophile - 180 Grm 2LP + Booklet

In stock
Shirley Scott - Queen Talk: Live at the Left Bank 
Label: Reel To Real – RTR-LP-009
2 x Vinyl, LP, Album, Record Store Day, Limited Edition, Numbered, 180-gram
Recorded live at the Famous Ballroom in Baltimore, MD, USA, on August 20, 1972.
Limited-edition first pressing of 3,000 hand-numbered copies.
This double LP set was transferred from the original tape reels and is pressed on 180-gram vinyl.
Barcode: 875531022759
Country: USA & Canada
Released: Apr 22, 2023
Genre: Jazz
Style: Post Bop, Contemporary Jazz
A1 Impressions
A2 Never Can Say Goodbye
B1 Like Someone In Love
B2 Witchcraft
C1 Blues By Five
C2 By The Time I Get To Phoenix
C3 Smile
D1 You Don't Mess Around With Jim
D2 Girl Talk
D3 Blues
''Queen Talk: Live at the Left Bank is an official never-before-seen concert recording from one of the greatest female jazz organists of all-time, Shirley Scott. With George Coleman on tenor saxophone and Bobby Durham on drums completing a powerhouse trio.'
''Culled from the recording archives of the Baltimore-based Left Bank Jazz Society, Queen Talk: Live at the Left Bank captures organist Shirley Scott in a fiery 1972 performance. Best known for her '50s work with saxophonist Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis, Scott had developed into a swaggeringly adept bandleader in her own right by the 1970s. For most of the decade prior, she had worked alongside her husband, tenor saxophonist Stanley Turrentine, helping to craft his funky, organic brand of soul-jazz. Divorced from Turrentine and having signed her own contract with Cadet Records, Scott had already embarked on her own career by the time she hit the stage in August 1972. Notably, most of her early recordings found her working with a bassist. The choice was largely a label attempt at setting her apart from other organists, but one that undermined her immense, multi-tasking keyboard abilities. Here, she handles both keyboard and bass duties, deftly laying down bass grooves via the Hammond B-3-foot pedals in the traditional organ style. Throughout, her playing is boldly harmonic and rhythmically assured, marked by thick chordal blasts that shimmer like waves in the sun. Riding those waves are drummer Bobby Durham and tenor saxophonist George Coleman (who valiantly carved out his own place in jazz history as the saxophonist after John Coltrane and before Wayne Shorter in Miles Davis' quintet). Coleman had just played on Scott's third Cadet album, Lean on Me. On this night, both musicians sound relaxed and ready to let loose. Let loose they do, tackling an inspired mix of standards and reworked contemporary billboard hits, including a driving version of Coltrane's "Impressions" in which Scott matches Coleman's edgy note choices line for line. They also dig into soulful readings of Jimmy Webb's "By the Time I Get to Phoenix" and Gloria Gaynor's "Never Can Say Goodbye," both full of earthy, golden-hour vibes, making the strong case that jazz musicians often sound the best when they put their own twist on unexpected pop tunes. Also jumping on board late in the set is singer Ernie Andrews, who brings his urbane, lover-man style to Jim Croce's "You Don't Mess Around with Jim" and a raucously playful take on "Girl Talk." During the introduction to "Girl Talk," Andrews encourages the audience to clap and give it up to Scott and her trio, calling her "the First Lady of Hammond." As the album implies, Scott was actually known as the "Queen of the Organ." Regardless of title, on Queen Talk: Live at the Left Bank, Scott is jazz royalty personified.' (AllMusic)
More Information
Condition New
Format 2LP, 180 Gram
Color Black