Ryuichi Sakamoto – Travesía - 2023 Ambient Minimal Modern Classical - Sealed 2LP

In stock

Ryuichi Sakamoto Curated By Iñárritu – Travesía

Label:    Milan – 19658767091
Format:    2 x Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Stereo
Housed in a gatefold sleeve.
Artwork: Pedro Reyes 'Olin' 2020, volcanic rock.
Songs sourced from:
A1: Thousand Knives Of = 千のナイフ
A3: Neo Geo
A4: Heartbeat
A5: Async
B1: 音楽図鑑
B2, C1, D3: Beauty
B3, D4: Sweet Revenge
B4, C5, D1, D2: Chasm
B5: Year Book 2005-2014
C2: Smoochy
C4: B-2 Unit
D5: Out Of Noise
A2 is a completely different song than the one featured on The Revenant (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack).
Compilation ℗ 2022 Milan Records, a division of Sony Music Entertainment
© 2022 Kinetic Art and Business America, Inc., under exclusive license to Milan Records, a label of Sony Music Entertainment.
Milan is an imprint of Sony Music Masterworks. Distributed by Sony Music Entertainment.
Made in the EU.
Barcode (Scanned): 196587670917
Country:    USA, Canada & Europe
Released:    May 5, 2023
Genre:    Electronic, Stage & Screen
Style:    Ambient, Modern Classical, New Age


A1    Ryuichi Sakamoto–    Thousand Knives
A2    Ryuichi Sakamoto & Alva Noto–    The Revenant Main Theme (Alva Noto Remodel)
A3    Ryuichi Sakamoto–    Before Long
A4    Ryuichi Sakamoto & Houria Aichi–    Nuages
A5    Ryuichi Sakamoto–    Life, Life

B1    Ryuichi Sakamoto–    Ma Mère I’Oye
B2    Ryuichi Sakamoto–    Rose
B3    Ryuichi Sakamoto–    Tokyo Story
B4    Ryuichi Sakamoto–    Break With
B5    Ryuichi Sakamoto–    Blu


C1    Ryuichi Sakamoto–    Asadoya Yunta
C2    Ryuichi Sakamoto–    Rio
C3    Ryuichi Sakamoto–    Reversing
C4    Ryuichi Sakamoto–    Thatness And Thereness
C5    Ryuichi Sakamoto–    Ngo / Bitmix

D1    Ryuichi Sakamoto–    +Pantonal
D2    Ryuichi Sakamoto–    Laménto
D3    Ryuichi Sakamoto & Youssou N'Dour–    Diabaram
D4    Ryuichi Sakamoto–    Same Dream, Same Destination
D5    Ryuichi Sakamoto–    Composition 0919


"The quality of Sakamoto's library would seem to make choosing a compilation a simple-enough task. Yet, so much could have gone wrong, and often does in these types of albums. What Iñárritu has done is to cull together an actual album: a selection that makes sense as a whole. Piece flows into piece, somehow remaining cohesive while reflecting the range of Sakamoto's experiments over the decades.

Perhaps part of this cohesion comes from a disproportionate sampling from two albums, Beauty and CHASM. But those particular albums are natural bridges in Sakamoto's discography and make sense as foundations to Travesía. This is not a greatest-hits collection, and it's all the better for that. Rather, every track on here has endured past fashion or the myopia of hits (often, a "hit" has as much to do with the "when" of the release as the quality of it).

The vinyl is quiet, solid, and beautiful." (Amazon review)

More Information

More Information
Condition New
Format LP
Color Black