Hot Snakes ‎– Jericho Sirens - 2018 Indie Garage Punk - Black Vinyl LP

In stock

Hot Snakes ‎– Jericho Sirens

Sub Pop ‎– SP1224, Sub Pop ‎– SP 1224
Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Loser Edition
16 Mar 2018
Alternative Rock, Indie Rock, Punk


A1 I Need A Doctor
A2 Candid Cameras
A3 Why Don’t It Sink In?
A4 Six Wave Hold-Down
A5 Jericho Sirens

B1 Death Camp Fantasy
B2 Having Another?
B3 Death Doula
B4 Psychoactive
B5 Death Of A Sportsman

Companies, etc.

Copyright (c) – Sub Pop Records
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Sub Pop Records
Recorded At – Audio Design
Recorded At – Singing Serpent
Recorded At – Milkboy Studios
Mixed At – Singing Serpent
Mastered At – Infrasonic Sound
Pressed By – Optimal Media GmbH – BH06059


Band [Hot Snakes] – Gar Wood, Jason Kourkounis, John Reis, Mario Rubalcaba
Band [Hot Snakes], Layout – Rick Froberg
Featuring – Glen Galloway, Matt Lamkin, Rob Crow
Lacquer Cut By – SJ (13)
Mastered By – Dave Gardner (2)
Photography By [Photo] – Scott Winer
Recorded By [Additional Recording] – Cody Cichowski
Recorded By, Mixed By – Ben Moore


Loser edition on black vinyl.
Cover has a reflective foil.
Includes printed inner sleeve and a digital download coupon.

©℗ 2018 Sub Pop Records.
Sub Pop is a registered trademark of Sub Pop Records.
2013 4th Ave., Third Floor, Seattle WA 98121.

Catalog number SP1224 appears on the front sleeve and the spine. SP 1224 appears on the center labels and inner sleeve.

The lacquer cutting engineer and pressing plant are identified by the run-out etchings.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

Barcode (Sticker on shrink wrap): 4059251216681
Barcode (Printed on front): 098787122411
Matrix / Runout (Side A [etched]): SP1224 BH06059-01 A1 SJ I⨡
Matrix / Runout (Side B [etched]): SP1224 BH06059-01 B1 SJ I⨡




Hot Snakes are an American post-hardcore band led by Rick Froberg and John Reis, formed in 1999 in San Diego, California. Reis and Froberg had previously performed together in Pitchfork and Drive Like Jehu, after which Reis had found international success with Rocket from the Crypt. Hot Snakes disbanded in 2005 but reunited in 2011.

Jericho Sirens is a reunion in the high-school sense of the term, corralling everyone who’s ever called themselves a Hot Snake. Where the band’s first two records featured former Delta 72 drummer Jason Kourkounis and their third replaced him with RFTC stickman Mario Rubalcaba (later of OFF! and Earthless), the new album features appearances from both. No matter who’s behind the kit, Jericho Sirens’ unwavering thwack attack and chain-whipped tambourine rattle soundly reassert Hot Snakes’ status as the most merciless band in the Froberg/Reis nexus. Even at their fiercest, Rocket From the Crypt songs were always fueled by a classic rock’n’roll abandon, while Jehu’s art-punk epics balanced the visceral with the cerebral. But on this LP, each of Reis’ and Froberg’s revved-up riffs feels like a nasty sucker-punched elbow to the ribs, each piercing staccato guitar line a finger poking at the bruise.

Jericho Sirens releases the pause button as if Hot Snakes had been locked in freeze-frame for the past 14 years, instantly thrusting them back into action on the frenzied “I Need a Doctor.” With its manic expressions of helplessness and desperation (“I need to be near a toilet!”), the song seemingly invites interpretations tied to America’s current political crisis and ongoing healthcare nightmare. And certainly, the marauding “Death of a Sportsman,” with its graphic depiction of a doomed big-game hunter (“What is left of him ain’t worth sending home!”), works as an unsubtle eat-the-rich metaphor. But Froberg has been the very embodiment of wiry agitation and tinfoil-chewing tension for the past quarter century, no matter who’s running the country. All that pleading for medical attention you hear on “I Need a Doctor”? If you take the band at their word, it’s a simply a request for an MD’s note to skip out of an office Christmas function.

More Information
Condition New
Format LP
Label Sub Pop
Color Black